Structure of JAZA

Structure of JAZA

1. Current state of membership

The total number of regular member institutions of JAZA as of July 1, 2018 are 151, comprising 91 zoos and 60 aquariums.

2. Organization chart

President: Prince Akishino

1) Executive Body
Chairman, Vice Chairmen, Executive Director and 17 Directors

2) Executive Committees
These committees handle the planning and implementing of each particular matter based on the project master plan. Each committee consists of a Chairman, Vice- Chairman and other members, and also has subcommittees.
・General Affairs Committee
・Universal Education Committee
・Safety Precaution Committee
・Conservation Committee
・Regional Committee

3) Regional blocks
Each block has a representative director who holds consultative meetings, seminars and study groups within the block.
・Hokkaido, Kanto and Tohoku Block
・Chubu Block
・Kinki Block
・Chugoku and Shikoku Block
・Kyushu and Okinawa Block

4) Public Relations Strategy Office
Chairman, Vice Chairmen, Executive Director, Chairman of the Universal Education Committee.

5) Public Relations Strategy Session
Four External Committee Members, one Corporate Advisor, one General Member, Public Relations Strategy Officers .

6) Secretariat
An Executive Director, a Secretary-General, four Secretaries.
The Secretariat issues the animal handling compliances, the standards for animal care and storage and information materials pertaining to JAZA. It is also responsible for sales/management of JAZA publications, clerical works relating to support services for sections/committees for members as well as other duties.

7) Auditing Council
Two audits

8)Advisory Council
・Three corporate advisors
・Hundred general members